Family

THE RETURN …A REFLECTION OF MY TEACHING…

“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” I really liked John F. Kennedy telling this quote to his friends. These words were influential and it touched me too.

My teaching skills had brought me back to where I should belong. Though it sounded corny to mimic McArthur’s “ I Shall Return”, it was  happening in the real me. This time, the “return” has changed  my entire life as I embraced  new horizon of the Philippine Educational System.

Many of my friends and relatives had wondered why I left my profession three years ago. Well, a single mother of four with a high economic demand due to the increasing needs of  family had changed my life’s perspectives. I left the low-income teaching job in exchange of a business in lime processing. Thinking it will bring me to prosperity, I moved to divert my “loan life” image into a “businesswoman” where there was plenty of money to count, not plenty of loan forms to comply just to meet the needs of the family. Business was so smooth at first but the tiresome endeavor in exchange of higher income had changed my lifestyles. When in teaching I enjoyed the company of professionals and well-mannered people, in business I had to deal with the uneducated workers and contemporaries then the New People’s Army. Their values and principles were unbearable though their life’s condition were miserable. I was not totally happy when I had those money, deep in my heart was my desire to teach them about life, but they couldn’t perceive my interpersonal views. They called me “Madame” a title similar to the other businesswomen who were my contemporaries, a title related to its negative connotation as being oppressive.

Yes, I laughed and ate with them, however those “good terms “will easily turn into sour when I can make a big leap of my profits. I was then viewed as oppressive especially when I can easily make the “closed deals” to the different companies and invite more bulk buyers of my product. Then suddenly I started receiving the “death threats” which had caused me to be vigilant and sometimes hide if needed. Until one day, they burned down my kiln into ashes.

Such a big loss had torn my dreams into pieces…then I realized I had to embrace my failures and start a new beginning. …

 

Leave a Reply

